When you block someone the intended result is that that person cannot see or interact with you.
This is not the case with the website when you block someone.
Blocked users can still send you friend requests even if you have them blocked.
This does not work in-game, so it is expected that the same would apply to the website.
- Block user (website or in-game)
- Have that user send a friend request via the website
- Friend request will now show up for you.